Sounds Beautiful Like The Truth
Cart 0
The 1978ers - People of Today (2LP)

The 1978ers - People of Today (2LP)


Product: 2xLP 
Artist: The 1978ers (yU & Slimkat)
Release Date: November 18, 2014

01. A People's Intro Act I
02. One Nine 7 T 8
03. P.O.T. Act II
04. In The Way
05. R.P.Lude
06. U Know How It Iz
07. Without A Clue
08. SacreLude
09. Sacreligious
10. Gentlest Ones
11. P.O.T. Act III
12. Tryin' Then Yall Say
13. Pre-Develop (feat. Ld Henriquez)
14. Develop
15. Post-Develop (Where Are We Growing)
16. Give It Up (feat. Kima Aldridge)
17. FAR
18. W.Y.W. (What You Want) (Bonus)

Music is an exchange of ideas. This album is something for those exhausted with the shuck and jive of pop culture, who believe in the purification rituals offered by hard snares, funky drum kicks, soul-coughing bass, and deeply rooted vibrations.

Steadfastly infusing their songs with spirituality and positivity, yU and Slimkat are everymen with preternatural talent. Over the years, they’ve tirelessly built a rep in the DMV, collaborating on yU’s The Earn and Before Taxes, which OkayPlayer called “one of the best hip-hop albums released in the last few years.” In 2009, yU released In the Ruff as the philosophical heart of super-group Diamond District, a record hailed by MTV as “arguably the best hip-hop ever released in D.C.”

Slimkat supplies the beats that make the blood rush to your head. Named one of the best producers of 2010 by, he’s dished countless production dimes to the likes of Muhsinah, Eric Roberson, Diamond District, and more.

The People of Today is a seamless and head-spinning record. It’s hard-boiled beats and raps laced with wisdom and virtue. The sort of record that you can sit with today and tomorrow, and any time you need to be reminded that we’re all in this together. 


Note: The first 300 pieces of LTD Red Wax Haze sold out on Dec 7, 2014.

Note: The second 300 pieces of LTD Color Swatch Vinyl is sold out!

Producers: Slimkat, yU
Featuring: Bilal Salaam, B. Jamelle, Kima Aldridge

Keys - Lorenzo (Zo!) Ferguson of The Foreign Exchange - 09
Xylophone/Kalimba - yU - 01, 12, 13, 14
Drums - Cody Flores - 17
Trombone - Ben Jackson - 04, 07, 14

Cover photo by Jati Lindsay.
All other photography by Antoine Lyers

Executive Produced by Michael Tolle
Mello Music Group Copyright 2014

Share this Product

More from this collection