Sounds Beautiful Like The Truth
Cart 0
Kenn Starr - Square One (LP)

Kenn Starr - Square One (LP)


Product: LP (140g)
Artist: Kenn Starr
Album: Square One
Release Date: January 27, 2015


01 Square One (prod. by Kev Brown)
02 Say Goodbye (prod. by Black Milk)
03 Product Of The Basement (feat. Sean Born) (prod. by Kev Brown)
04 Strangers (prod. by Kev Brown)
05 The Definition (feat. Melanie Rutherford) (prod. by Black Milk)
06 Exodus (feat. Boog Brown) (prod. by 14KT)
07 Cigarettes & Whiskey (prod. by Roddy Rod)
08 Lesson A (prod. by Kev Brown)
09 Overdue (feat. Kaimbr, Hassaan Mackey & yU) (prod. by Kaimbr)
10 The Movement II (prod. by Kev Brown)
11 Farewell (feat. Sean Born) (prod. by Kev Brown)


12 Product Of The Basement (Remix) (prod. by Kev Brown)
13 Came To Deliver (feat. Wordsworth & Supastition) (prod. by Black Milk)

Featuring: Sean Born, Melanie Rutherford, Boog Brown, Kaimbr, Hassaan Mackey, yU, Wordsworth, Supastition
Production: Kev Brown, Black Milk, 14KT, Roddy Rod, Kaimbr

Album Description:

Kenn Starr sees his career at square one, despite being regarded among the elite of the DMV scene, and being in the inner circle of producers Oddisee and Kev Brown, and having his newest album signed to Mello Music Group. Eight years since his debut, Starr Status, Kenn Starr is baggage free on his sophomore album, Square One.

Largely produced by Kev Brown with a nice block of production by Black Milk, and additional work by 14KT, Roddy Rod, and Kaimbr, Square One is Kenn Starr getting back to his foundation to begin anew. The laid back flow remains intact—complementary to the Kev Brown’s vintage soul-crate production—but the perspective is written with a wisdom earned through seeing opportunities that overpassed his doorstep. On “Cigarettes & Whiskey“ he addresses his history with passing fancy and a buried hatchet, “please pardon my view points / Starr Status wasn’t a classic but had a few joints,” and makes no qualms about his hiatus. Square One is the only album Kenn Starr could write in order to bid farewell to days past and move forward.

With the firmest of grips on reality, Kenn Starr has kept his Low Budget Crew ties in toe, including Sean Born who makes appearances on “Product Of The Basement” and album closer, “Farewell”. Kenn also enlists Mello Music standout yU, and long time compatriot Wordsworth, as well as the lush voice of singing star Melanie Rutherford. Square One is built from the underground-up as Starr still writes from the mindset of being a product of the basement.

Executive Produced by Michael Tolle
Mello Music Group Copyright 2015

Share this Product

More from this collection