Sounds Beautiful Like The Truth
Cart 0
DTMD - Makin' Dollas (CD)

DTMD - Makin' Dollas (CD)


Product: CD (Digipak)
Artist: DTMD
Album: Makin’ Dollas
Release Date: September 27, 2011

01. Intro
02. Makin’ Dollas
03. Untitled (feat. Oddisee)
04. Been Trying
05. You
06. The Struggle Is Real
07. Interlude
08. Raw (feat. Godly MC, Kev Brown)
09. Fantastic
10. A Loan For The Lonely
11. Keep On (feat. yU)
12. Sea Me Sun
13. God Theory
14. 95 Live (feat. Quartermaine)
15. The Flame

Prince Georges County, Maryland duo DTMD represents the youth movement among DMV hip hop. With Dunc on the beats and Toine on the mic, the moniker Dunc and Toine Makin' Dollas is a nod to the classic East Coast act EPMD, a duo that first hit stardom before Dunc and Toine were even born, but also serves as a strong indicator of their craft-striving to produce fresh and innovative music while maintaining a deep reverence for the pioneers who preceded them.

Dunc's rich, full-bodied production serves as a natural backdrop to Toine's technically astute rhymes, layered deep with smooth instrumentation evocative of such luminaries as J. Dilla, DJ Jazzy Jeff, and Pete Rock, each of whom shaped the classic hip hop sounds of Dunc's childhood. Toine's energy and bright delivery belie wisdom beyond his years, inspiring deep reflection as easily as sharp battle fare and complex rhyme schemes. Maintaining a close working relationship with PG neighbor Oddisee and assuming a strong presence in the collective atmosphere of the DMV's hip hop scene, DTMD appeared separately on MMG's "Helpless Dreamer" compilation, Toine rhyming on "Different Now" and Dunc producing Stik Figa's "From the Top." Now, the debut album Makin' Dollas has arrived.

Vocals: Toine, Godly MC, Kev Brown, Oddisee, Quartermaine, yU

Produced, Arranged, & Mixed by Dunc
Distributed by Fatbeats & IODA
Executive Produced by Michael Tolle
Mello Music Group Copyright 2011

Share this Product

More from this collection